You are here

The #AllForJan Award competition – the call for entries announced

17 January 2022
3951 reads
They fight for the truth, for transparency, for freedom of speech. They want to inform, bring facts to light and empower people to take free decisions. Journalists are the heroes of democratic societies.

The #AllForJan Award recognizes best media coverage, exceptional and courageous reporting with a great impact on society and innovative ways of bringing the story to the public. The award is named after the global #AllForJan movement, which was established after the murder of Ján Kuciak, the young Slovak investigative journalist killed in 2018, to honor his work and legacy.

The #AllForJan Award was presented for the first time at the Press Freedom Conference 2020 in Gdańsk.

How to apply
Who is eligible?
Any journalist or team of journalists providing independent reporting who work for any media organization, investigative center or are freelance based in Central and Eastern European countries. Print, TV, radio and internet media stories of investigative nature published between January 1 and December 30, 2021 are admitted. Eligible journalistic works are allowed to be nominated by third parties as well.
What is the value of the award?
The award will be accompanied
by a check worth EUR 10,000.
How to submit a nomination?
All eligible journalists or teams of journalists, conducting independent reporting and based in Central and Eastern European countries, can apply in English via the form below (please be informed that the attached journalistic material must also be in English). An application can be placed on behalf of the applicant by a third party. N. B. The application deadline of this edition is January 31, 2022. Read about the winner here.
What is the judging process?
Selected media professionals and respected personalities will shortlist the entries and finally select one award winner. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the whole decision process will take place online. The award winner will be announced at the Media For Freedom Summit (previously Press Freedom Conference) on February 23, 202